Youth Projects

David Bell Youth of the Month / Youth of the Year

Our David Bell Youth of the Month/Year Awards recognizes hard-working DHHS seniors who attain high levels of scholastic achievement, community involvement and leadership. This proven program not only rewards outstanding young people, but also provides an incentive for other youngsters to strive for equally high levels of achievement. Each month from January till graduation, we select one student who has shown academic and personal excellence as our Youth of the Month. These students vie for the Madison Exchange Club Youth of the Year, the Connecticut Youth of the Year and ultimately, the prestigious National Youth of the Year Award.

The Exchange Club of Madison is pleased to present all our Youth of the Month winners with a dinner, an award plaque and a check for $400.

ACE and Cataldo Youth Awards dinner at Cafe Allegre

A.C.E and Wally Cataldo Awards

The A.C.E. Award (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence) is given to a senior student who has had to overcome great physical, emotional or social obstacles and have qualified for graduation. The award recognizes those students who are often overlooked for their accomplishments. This recognition serves as a powerful example to all students that hard work and perseverance really do pay. The ACE Award winner may be submitted to the district competition. Winners at the district level have an opportunity to compete for the National ACE Award.

Named after a former Madison Exchange member with a special needs child, the Wally Cataldo Award is given annually to a student who has excelled in the special education program at DHHS and will pursue higher education after graduation.

The annual award and scholarship ceremony at the Daniel Hand High School

Evarts Janssen Memorial Scholarship

Sam Anderson Memorial Scholarship

Dunnith R. Heenan III Memorial Scholarship

Youth of the Year

Dick Gould American Legion Boys and Girls State Scholarships

Dylan Buller, Jacob Thomas and Nicholas D’Agostino (2011)

Jessica Buller, Jaclyn Strickland and Jennifer Yao (2011)

Zachary Gardner, John Ovian and Matthew Richard (2012)

Demiana Azmy, Jayna Concannon and Graceann Kraemer (2012)

Matthew Karas, Shane Donahue, Christopher Parker (2014)

Erin Mammele, Hannah Leckey, Grace Cummings (2014)